Back to Top


2020 Presidential Candidates.

The following 23 elected officials and notable public figures—19 Democrats and four Republicans—have filed to run for president with the Federal Election Commission or announced exploratory committees.


Michael Bennet (D), a U.S. senator from Colorado, OUT as 02/11

  • Joe Biden (D), a former vice president of the United States, announced that he was running for president on April 25, 2019.

Cory Booker (D), a U.S. senator from New Jersey, OUT as 01/13

Steve Bullock (D), the governor of Montana, OUT as 12/01

Pete Buttigieg (D), the mayor of South Bend, Indiana, OUT as 03/01

Julián Castro (D), a former U.S. secretary of housing and urban development and San Antonio mayor, OUT as 01/02

John Delaney (D), a former U.S. representative from Maryland, OUT as 01/31

  • Tulsi Gabbard (D), a U.S. representative from Hawaii, announced that she had decided to run for president on January 11, 2019.

Kamala Harris (D), a U.S. senator from California, OUT as 12/03

Amy Klobuchar (D), a U.S. senator from Minnesota, OUT as 03/02

Wayne Messam (D), the mayor of Miramar, Florida, OUT as 10/24

Beto O'Rourke (D), former U.S. representative from Texas, OUT as 11/01

 Tim Ryan (D), a U.S. representative from Ohio, OUT as 10/24

          Bernie Sanders (I), a U.S. senator from Vermont.

Joe Sestak (D), a former U.S. representative from Pennsylvania, OUT as 12/01

Tom Steyer (D), founder of Farallon Capital Management, OUT as 03/01

  • President Donald Trump (R) filed to run for re-election in 2020 on January 20, 2017.

Joe Walsh (R), a former U.S. representative from Illinois, OUT as 02/07

Elizabeth Warren (D), U.S. senator from Massachusetts, OUT as 03/05

Marianne Williamson (D), an author and lecturer, OUT as 01/10

Andrew Yang (D), an entrepreneur and author from New York, OUT as 02/11


Paid for by: Democrats for Liberty Super Pac
Not authorized by any candidate or
candidate's committee

Powered by - Political Campaign Websites
Close Menu